Fenix BT20 Bike Light Review

January 13, 2013 | Reviews | , , , , ,

Fenix is well known as flashlight manufacturer and they expanded their product for wider user, bikers.  They sent me their new light for review a few weeks ago. This product was sent to me for free after I was chosen as tester for their global campaign among other applicants.

This new line of product is called Fenix BT20, maximum 750 lumens and powered by two 18650 batteries.

Fenix BT20 in a box

Here are the content of the package:

  • 1 Fenix BT20 bike light
  • 1 battery box/case
  • 1 holster for the battery box/case
  • 1 helmet mount/adapter
  • 1 cable extension
  • 3 O-rings in different diameters.


Unboxing Fenix BT20

I didn’t receive any manual book nor warranty card in the box, but there’s a letter from Fenix with some information about this product.

I was surprised because the light is smaller than I thought, here I put aside an eneloop AA for comparison:

Fenix BT20

You might noticed that the color of the front part is a bit reddish.  In the letter I mentioned before, it’s said that the color for bike light sample is different compared to the ones for sale.

The build quality is very good. I don’t know what material they use, but I like the strong feeling when I put the light on my hand.

Next part is battery case and its holster:

Fenix BT20 battery case

A decent holster with strong velcro to attach this power supply to my bike and make sure it won’t lost or thrown away on the hard track.

The rest of the package are helmet mount/adapter, cable extension,  and 3 O-ring straps. The ring is used to attach the light to bike’s handlebar:

Fenix BT20 parts

I use medium ring on my handlebar, you can choose which ring suit to your handlebar diameter.

Now time to give this light a try. I’ll put two 18650 batteries in the box provided.

Put 2 x 18650

I can open the box by unscrewing (counter clockwise) the button and tighten the cover by screwing the button clockwise. Make sure to put the batteries in correct polarity order because there’s no reverse polarity protection. But there’s a label to show which side goes positive and which one goes negative.

I asked Fenix if I can use 4 x (R)CR 123 but they say don’t because total voltage will be over the LED limit.

At first I was confused to determine which side of the cover is right until I see this sign printed on the battery box:

Fenix BT20 battery box

Anyway, I can’t close the box when the cover direction is wrong, but the label above will surely help.

Using mid-size ring, I mounted the light on my handlebar. Very tight and sturdy.

Fenix BT20 on handle bar

Let’s see the face of the light, nice LED:

Fenix BT20

At the top of the lens, there are some strips. It helps “break” the beam so it won’t disturb people who is driving from the opposite direction.  It gives long-range illumination, not direct beamshot, and pedestrian-friendly.

Battery box can be placed anywhere at your convenience. Its case has strong velcro to attach the box to my bike and hold battery box firmly. I choose to attach battery box on the frame.

Fenix BT20 and battery holder

The connection plug is very strong and I can feel that it’s water proof. I tied it using cheap velcro strap from hardware store to avoid noise when riding on the rough surfaces:

Fenix BT20 and cheap velcro

As alternatives, we can use cable tie for that purpose. I wish Fenix also  included this additional velcro.

And here’s how it look  from the biker’s point of view. The button glowing red, means that the battery almost running out. When the battery is full, the button will be green. The order is green -> red -> blinking red.

Fenix BT20 dashboard view

Push the button for more than one second and it will turn the light on. Push fast, or like clicking a computer mouse, will change its brightness level.  It starts from low -> medium -> almost bright -> very bright.

The beam color is neutral white, very suitable for outdoor activities and surely will beat the fog better than cool white.  Although maximum brightness is 750 lumens, I feel that the beam didn’t hurt my eyes at all. I like it!

To turn off the light, just push the button for more than one second. Very simple mechanism.

I tried to take some beam shot pictures but failed because my old camera doesn’t work very well in the darkness. I’ll try to get decent camera and will update this review later. Now I’ll write my conclusion about this nice bike light.

Pros:

  • Small in size and good material quality
  • Using 2 x 18650 battery, more power and  longer runtime
  • Very bright (750 lumens) but still eyes-friendly
  • Easy to attach and detach
  • Great light for dedicated user

Cons:

  • I wish there’s some additional velcro strap in the package
  • Not very suitable for daily/commuting biker because you’ll have to detach the light and battery box every time you park your bike. Loosing a 90+ bucks bike light will be heart breaking.

At last but not least, here are two pictures of Fenix BT20 in action, taken using my cellphone on my night ride from office to home. Sorry for image quality, my cellphone’s camera can’t really show you how bright it is.

Fenix BT 20 and cat

Fenix BT20 on the street side

Bottomline:  

If you’re looking for a dedicated bike light, this light is for you. But if you’re a flashlight fan, I think you’d rather choose to attach your favorite EDC flashlight on your bike.

44 comments

This post has 44 comments, amazing!

  1. newash 06/02/2009 at 05:18

    pertamax!

  2. Rahmat Miftahul Habib 06/02/2009 at 06:23

    Wah bangganya jadi org Jawa… 😀
    Bhs Pemrog. Java itu kok bisa dikasih nama Java ya?
    Emang bener ya sejarahnya kalau para programmernya bikinnya di pulau Jawa?
    Trus sambil minum teh?
    Atau pas lagi bikin program minum tehnya teh Jawa? 😀

  3. didinu 06/02/2009 at 07:07

    hehehe…keren yo

  4. Anang 06/02/2009 at 07:22

    saya jg makin cinta opera, ndal.

  5. geblek 06/02/2009 at 07:30

    ntah napa sampai sekarang masih cinta sama FF 🙂

  6. philry4n 06/02/2009 at 07:42

    cross blogging dong pak! :p

  7. detnot 06/02/2009 at 10:06

    keren
    mendukung ‘Boso Walikan’ gak jeng? :mrgreen:

  8. zam 06/02/2009 at 14:01

    Anang cinta Sandal?

  9. mbak maya 06/02/2009 at 16:24

    It’s a nice blog. Salam kenal ya. Wassalam.

  10. chocoluv 06/02/2009 at 16:31

    purest javascript, keren.
    kalo purest and greatest javascript pasti disebut murda 😛

  11. mbak maya 06/02/2009 at 16:34

    It’s anice blog. salam kenal ya. Wassalam. NB: kapan2 ajarin aku coding PHP ya.

  12. pengki 06/02/2009 at 22:06

    saya kok curiga kalau ini ulahnya si bruce ya..
    proper java script.. ?

    😀 😀

  13. dani 06/02/2009 at 22:45

    jangan2 developer opera kepincut jawane Indonesia? 😆

  14. leksa 07/02/2009 at 23:09

    Ndal,..
    kalo udah rilis ,.. coba bikin plugin “Carakan”

    kasi nama “keris” or “gamelan” ..
    Sound nice 😀

    ah, Opera makin njawani,.. knapa Opera ga pindah dari Oslo ke Jawa saja ?

  15. abdee 08/02/2009 at 01:23

    jangan jangan besok FAQ berganti istilah menjadi “Pitakonan”….

  16. pupungbp 10/02/2009 at 07:35

    Hm… Java / Jawa begitu terkenal dahulu kala karena bangsa kolonial mengexport hasil kekayaan Indonesia yang di administrasi dari pulau Jawa. Kopi, Rempah, sampai Kayu Jati… Walau hanya sebatas nama, beberapa klien saya sangat mengapresiasi, kalau saya bilang tinggal di pulau Java atau West Java 😀

  17. -GoenRock- 14/02/2009 at 16:34

    kenapa ndak sekaliayn pake aksara jawa juga penulisan kodenya? 😆

  18. the kepiting 14/02/2009 at 20:39

    mantaf

  19. guntur geni 16/02/2009 at 20:37

    mantaph kang…viva java

  20. Nurdiansyah 18/02/2009 at 15:51

    Good…
    Semakin banyak saja penamaan atau istilah-istilah IT dunia yang ter-inspirasi dari negeri tercinta ini… :p

  21. widik 20/02/2009 at 09:11

    Wah istilah-istilah bahasa kita makin banyak dipake ya, semoga bangsa kita makin maju terutama dunia IT.

  22. baobaz 20/02/2009 at 18:11

    wah pecinta opera software yang ga ada matinya nih. hehehe…
    harusnya sekalian ditulis pake aksara jawa juga kali ya.. biar dibeneran menjadi the purest java. hahaha…

  23. eko 26/02/2009 at 14:35

    kayaknya istilah “DAGADU” dan “BAJINDUL” akan segera diadopsi oleh Opera ya Jeng..

    kereeenn

  24. eko 27/02/2009 at 13:17

    sip..bravo ho no co ro ko

  25. dhenick 04/03/2009 at 16:40

    Manteb.. sapa tau aja someday opera menu menunya jadi bhs kromo inggil… hehehehehe.. ^_^

  26. Goen 06/03/2009 at 01:41

    Apdet apdet…

    *kemaki*

    *congkak*

    *pongah*

    *apalagiya*

  27. PriyayiSae 09/03/2009 at 18:01

    sbg orang jawa, sy mengucap terimakasih krn opera telah memercayakan istilah jawa. sip, mantab!

  28. cewe cute 13/03/2009 at 09:19

    sy juga cintaaaa operaaaa

  29. senoaji 13/03/2009 at 20:10

    mumet nganggo opera

  30. tantos 17/03/2009 at 12:05

    klo gamelan sepertinya == java, coba liat http://developer.com/ ada link Gamelan yg mengarah ke java.

    *saiki tanggal 17 lho mas dab

  31. aziz 17/03/2009 at 12:40

    Padahal kalau developer opera tau filosofi jawa = alon-alon asal kelakon, pasti mereka wegah jadiin nama engine yang mengusung jargon kecepatan..

    Hahahaha.. kidding!

    *medang sik ah… karo browsang-browsing nganggo FF

  32. pRaZt_ 23/03/2009 at 09:39

    opera ja ikut njawani, tp knpa kebanyakan dr qta mlh gak menjaga budaya sendiri…
    misalnya, generasi muda sekarang udh sdkit yg msh pake bahasa krama inggil. bhs tu bs ilang lho pd gnrasi berikutnya krn g ada lg yg memakai.
    btw salut bwt opera.

  33. nakuragen 27/03/2009 at 08:11

    wah.. jadi inget pelajaran bahasa jawa waktu masih duduk di kelas dasar.

    sekarang di bangku kuliah jg ada pelajaran ., ups mata kuliah bahasa jawa, tapi bahasa jawanya beda … ehhehe kerennya temen temen nyebut sih pemprograman java
    kekekkek

  34. warm 03/04/2009 at 15:47

    jadi penasaran 🙂
    ya ya saya masih pake opera mini juga

  35. KaVi_BorLaNd 05/04/2009 at 00:19

    semoga tidak selembut orang jawa.. browser itu harus galak, biar mantaaapp..

  36. azaxs 13/04/2009 at 18:50

    Oo.. slama ini saya ga pernah pake opera….

  37. Daus 14/04/2009 at 13:04

    Tersenyum sama komentarnya Mbak Maya, pertama salam kenal, kedua salam kenal plus minta diajari coding, hehehe…

    Opera, di Mac lebih cepat dibanding FF. Di PC, kedodoran. Betul tidak?

  38. Suwahadi 20/04/2009 at 06:38

    Wow… Njawani yo? hahaha
    Saya juga cinta ama Opera mas.
    Tapi sebatas di HP aja (Opera Mini). Kabooor…. 😀

  39. Bisnis Aman 21/04/2009 at 20:13

    Wah seharusnya sebagai orang jawa harus bangga,,namun selain itu juga harus tunjukan kemampuan kita dalam bidang IT,toh sudah banyak ahli” IT yang berseliweran di tanah jawa ini..

    Jangan Mau kalah bersaing..
    sayapun berusaha menjalankan bisnis sebaik mungkin..
    bagi anda yang tertarik melihat peluang bisnis silahkan kunjungi web saya.. 🙂

  40. Mbah Ableh 28/04/2009 at 16:17

    Yen.

  41. Adis 07/05/2009 at 09:52

    Entah apa jadinya dunia tanpa orang jawa java…

  42. riesal 22/06/2009 at 22:01

    no matter what it is, opera still the best.

  43. Wiwied 08/07/2009 at 01:05

    Keren. Nice infoooooo..

  44. Densscessario 08/06/2010 at 03:25

    BTW: in Polish, “caracan” means “cockroach”. ;P

 

Leave a comment

Allowed tags are: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>